Independent topical source of current affairs, opinion and issues, featuring stories making news in Canada from immigrants, newcomers, minorities & ethnic communities' point of view and interests.

Township: Seat and Re-Election

township: Each of the nonpartisan elected positions carries a four-year term, according to NOW Magazine. Lee Dedmon won his Gastonia Township seat against Mike Stuart. All four incumbents who chose to run for re-election retained their seats on the school board in the Nov. 6 General Election. Justin Davis won his South Point Township seat against Scot Hughes. Each ran unopposed in the election. Dot Cherry won re-election to her at large seat and Kevin Collier, who serves as the board's chairman, won re-election to his Riverbend Township seat. ( As reported in the news.